Poem The Walk

I always walk this way

Eyes soaking up

Every single once of grey

Surrounded by people

But everyone

Ignores me

I remember the days

Full of friends

When everyone adored me

Some how it all went wrong

Now even in this crowd

I stand in isolation

Forever reaching out

But not too far

For fear someone

Might finally see me

And I will be exposed

For everything that I am

Including the things

I pretend not to be

The sun dances on me

Like a warm hand

Trying to comfort

The rain runs

Through my hair

Down my face

And back

In an attempt

To wash off the despair

The wind wraps

Around me

Holding me

On the darkest of days

This is how

I find myself

The elements my only friends

Tomorrow I will

Take this walk again

4 responses to “Poem The Walk

Leave a Reply

