Poem-Can’t believe it’s you

My city burns at night

You lit the torches

All I can feel

Is the heat

Oh god it scorches

It took so long

For me to learn

And face the truth

Now it’s constant pain

Oh god it burns

I can’t believe it’s you

After all we’ve been through

You stick it in and twist

My heart is broken

I can’t believe it’s you

After all we’ve been through

You stick it in and twist

Now my soul lies open

Now you see

There is nothing left

Piles of ashes

A life flat lining

You stand by

As it crashes

How could you watch

And not even care

You keep walking

As if unaware

49 responses to “Poem-Can’t believe it’s you

  1. Subject matter i do spend much time on, I have written many poems similar to this so i do understand what you are convaying very well. You did a great job of protraying your feelings. I look forward to reading your works in the future.

    ps thanks for swinging by my blog.

  2. WOW, powerful. Leaves me still. The pain is so obvious and so pure in your words, its tragic yet beautiful and so so fascinating (probably says something about me that I’m enchanted by tragedy, or it may be your words).
    The Lonely Recluse.

    • sounds like we have a lot in common. please read more on here and you will see what I mean. And if you subscribe you will get plenty for sure. Not everything I write is tragic but I dare say most is in some way. I did not get the black swan name for nothing. 🙂

  3. Hello,
    Appreciate your participation at poets rally,
    Please return favor to poets who are here yet you did not reach them initially,
    Bless your day.
    Have fun!
    😉

  4. Interesting, I’ve read this over a few times now and I can’t shake the sense that tells me you bask in this heartbreak. It is something of a masochistic pleasure, no? Beautifully penned.

  5. I do enjoy writing and reading about the sadder side of life. While I do not live there always. I do enjoy the trips I take. I hope that makes sense.

  6. My heart is beating…
    And I am feared…
    How could you watch…
    And not even care…
    All I can feel…
    It is you…
    My heart is beating…
    And I am feared… 🙂

    • wow that is a big compliment. Thank you very much. Please feel free to become a Subscriber. I will always post one or two every week. Thanks again and have a great one 🙂

Leave a Reply

