Poem – The Night

The night it seems

To come more quickly

Than before

Soothing as it lays

Itself over me

Heavy weight of troubles

Become light enough to ignore

 

Brushed from my shoulder

Like crumbs onto the floor

Boulders loaded to the top

Laid across and carried on my back

Just hours before

 

In my own wooden crate

My initials engraved on the lid

As if to say

These are mine and mine alone

From the view of others

It remains hid

 

As long as I have

The help of the night

Refreshed from this break

I have received

I will return to the fight

 

Punching my way out

Of the corner

I can be strong again tomorrow

Dragging it if I must

Dealing with our own baggage

Is a part of life for all of us

 

 

 

15 responses to “Poem – The Night

  1. Hello, you win perfect poet award for week 56, hope that you have enjoyed it.
    It has been a delightful experience with you supporting Thursday Poets Rally, we have enjoyed your presence and talent very much, thumbs up!
    fabulous poetry along the way, keep those gems coming.
    Always, you are more than welcome to join our biweekly rally.
    Happy Holidays!
    smiles.
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

